New Productions

The (Female) Passenger)

Mieczyslaw Weinberg
1919 - 1996

Opera in two acts, eight scenes and an epilogue
Libretto by Alexander Medwedew after the novel by the same name by Zofia Posmysz
First ever staged performance July 19th 2010, Bregenz Festival
Sung in several languages, with German surtitles

Duration: 3 hours with one interval

About the work

Thou shallt never forget, is a law missing from the Ten Commandments. This is hard to do when applied to the horrors of a recurring nightmare experienced by the persecuted and their persecutors. One day things rise to the surface again, like in an Ibsen play. Nothing of that which was, is lost. The Polish-Jewish composer Weinberg's opera is about totalitarianism. Marta, a former prisoner in Auschwitz, reflects on those times of terror. Her constant enemy is the fear of forgetting, silencing the voices of her dead companions: »If, one day, your voices die away, then we shall perish...«
Die Passagierin (female passenger), based on a novel by Zofia Posmysz, a former concentration camp prisoner, takes place on an ocean liner but the story keeps returning to the hell of the camp. Two women, Lisa, a former warder and Marta, a former prisoner, meet on the deck of a ship sailing to Brasil in the late 1950s. Suddenly everything comes flooding back. The present becomes entwined with the past, the ship's sirens become SS sirens, the cabins, barracks, the salon orchestra, the camp orchestra. Weinberg's music is wonderfully expressive. The first ever staged performance of this work, in which German, Polish, Russian, Jiddish and French are sung, took place at the 2010 Bregenz Festival, whose organisers saved it from obscurity, and being forgotten.

Sponsorenlogo Frankfurter Patronatsvereins - Sektion Oper With generous support from the
Frankfurt Patronatsverein (Patrons) - Sektion Oper

Saturday 28.03.2015 19:00 h

Further performances

Opera House
Subscription: series 12

Pre-booking and Pricing


Leo Hussain
Anselm Weber
Stage Designer
Katja Haß
Costume Designer
Bettina Walter
Lighting Designer
Olaf Winter
Bibi Abel
Norbert Abels
Chorus Master
Tilman Michael

Tanja Ariane Baumgartner
Peter Marsh
Sara Jakubiak
Brian Mulligan
Anna Ryberg
Jenny Carlstedt
Maria Pantiukhova *
Judita Nagyová
Nora Friedrichs *
Joanna Krasuska-Motulewicz
Old Woman
Barbara Zechmeister
1sr SS Man
Dietrich Volle
2nd SS Man
Magnús Baldvinsson
3rd SS Man
Hans-Jürgen Lazar
Older Passenger
Thomas Faulkner*
Chief Warden
Margit Neubauer
Michael McCown

Oper Frankfurt's Orchestra and Chorus

* Member of the Opera Studio

Copyright © 2013 Oper Frankfurt