New Productions

Bohuslav Martinu
1890 - 1959

Lyric Opera in three acts
Libretto by the composer, after the play by the same name by Georges Neveux
First performed March 16th 1938, Nationaltheater, Prague
Sung in German with German surtitles

About the work

Michel, a book-seller, finds himself in a small town by the sea, a place he once visited as a child. But that is just a memory, and memories are not to be trusted. The opera leads us to a place whose inhabitants have lost the ability to remember things: a world devoid of memory and, therefore, sense of time. But there seems to be another theme, closely linked to this. What if we only dream our life, and life and dreams are only »pages of a untitled book«? This deeply rooted, recurring suspicion, which dates back to Calderon in the 1600s, lies behind this lyric opera by the Czech composer Martinů, which vacillates between illusion and reality. The imaginary world in the work, and Georges Neveux's play, a predecessor of absurd theatre, becomes even more heightened by the magical music. Martinů's sound language moves between Debussy's dream world and Stravinsky's matter-of-factness. The work is only held together by the unfathomable, constantly blurring character portrait of Julietta, an allegory for the longing for love. Martinů's recurring questions: »What is man? What am I? What are you? What is truth?« raise their heads again here in the search for a single, absolute principle, that somewhere in the boundless »continuum of space and time, confused concepts appear to exist in the past and future« (Martinů). Is man capable of love?

Saturday 27.06.2015 19:30 h

Further performances

Opera House
Subscription: series 07

Pre-booking and Pricing


Sebastian Weigle
Florentine Klepper
Stage Designer
Boris Kudlička
Costume Designer
Adriane Westerbarkey
Lighting Designer
Jan Hartmann
Norbert Abels
Chorus Master
Markus Ehmann

Juanita Lascarro
Kurt Streit
Town inhabitants
Beau Gibson
Boris Grappe
Andreas Bauer
Nina Tarandek
Maria Pantiukhova *
Magnús Baldvinsson
Marta Herman
Judita Nagyová
Michael McCown

Oper Frankfurt's Orchestra

* Member of thhe Opera Studio

Copyright © 2013 Oper Frankfurt