Sara Mingardo


is known for her unique dark, warm timbre – a sumptuous voice »rich in oscillating colours«. Sara Mingardo, born in Venice in 1961, is regarded as the Italian face of a vocal fach that has become less common. The association of Italian music critics honoured her with the »Premio Abbiati« in 2009. She is a sought after guest artist who appears at leading concert halls, opera companies and festivals. Conductors with whom Sara Mingardo regularly works include Claudio Abbado, Riccardo Chailly, Sir Colin Davis, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Riccardo Muti, Sir Roger Norrington, Maurizio Pollini, Myung-Whun Chung, Christophe Rousset and Jeffrey Tate, with orchestras including the Berlin Philharmonic, the London and Boston Symphony Orchestras, the Orchestre National de France, Les Musiciens du Louvre, the Monteverdi Chor & Orchester, Les Talents Lyriques, Accademia Montis Regalis and the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome. Her broad repertoire ranges from Monteverdi to Britten. Sara Mingardo is particularly passionate about early music, which she discovered after studying at the »Benedetto Marcello« Conservatoire in Venice, writing: »I have come to the conclusion that my voice is probably best suited for this music«. She recently sang Dafne / Proserpina in Caccini's L’Euridice with the Concerto Italiano under Rinaldo Alessandrini at the Innsbruck Festwochen der Alten Musik in the summer of 2013 and Statira in Vivaldi's L’incoronazione di Dario with the Accademia Bizantina under Ottavio Dantone at the Bremen Musikfest. Engagements in 2014 include Penelope in Monteverdi's Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria at Zurich Opera conducted by Ivor Bolton. Her first CD was a recording of the title role in Handel's Riccardo Primo (L’Oiseau Lyre label, 1995). Recordings made since then include Sara Mingardo (a solo album, Opus 111 label), From Monteverdi to Handel (b l ei Naïve label) with works by Pergolesi, Vivaldi, Scarlatti and Handel, two recordings with the Stradivarius label (dedicated to Ottorino Respighi and Guido Alberto Fano), Mahler's Kindertotenlieder / Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen (Eloquentia, 2012) and Al cielo - chamber duets by Benedetto Marcello (2013). Recordings of opera include Berlioz’ Les Troyens (LSO live), which was awarded a Grammophone Award and a Grammy Award for »Best Opera Recording« and »Best Classical Album« in 2002.
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31

Thomas Adès
Friday 24.01.2014 19:30 h
Opera House


Copyright © 2013 Oper Frankfurt